Quick Bites from Pender

Top Five Friday – 5 Cold / Chilled Soups to Cool You Down

In Top 5 Friday on July 9, 2010 at 1:02 pm

soba-in-frozen-consomme1.  Soba Shots in Frozen Asian Flavoured Double Strength Chicken Consomme by Island Vittles

I think my timing is a little better on this post than my last one — if I had checked the weather forecast before I published on Monday, I would have seen this heatwave coming, and not suggested a Wilted Spinach & Oyster Mushroom Salad with Warm Goat’s Cheese Dressing.

That said, I originally posted the Frozen Soba Shots above in April, when a warm spinach salad probably would have been the more appropriate choice in the cool spring sun.

I could change the name of this blog to Seasonal Food Anachronisms, or I could just get a grip and start posting stuff at the right time, and in the right order…in that spirit, I give you 5 great chilled soups to cool down the summer heat:

2.  Jamie Oliver’s Tomato Consomme

vine-ripened-tomato

3.  Anne Burrell’s Chilled Asparagus Soup with Goat Cheese

harvesting-asparagus

(photo by Chiot’s Run)

4.  Chilled Cucumber, Avocado & Buttermilk Soup from the LA Times

avocado

5.  Chilled White Bean Soup with Pesto

This recipe is a starting point…I love that it’s not a puree like almost all other cold soups out there, and I think it would be stellar with the addition of some preserved lemon (or lemon zest), and some parmesan in the pesto.

basil

  1. Theresa, this is a fun post with great soups. Your clarity of prose and captivating photos are really impressive!

    came across this log yesterday by a couple of guys (down in Seattle) and thought you and the Dooze had better check it out: http://shibaguyz.com/about/.

    Thanks,

    Dan

  2. Great round-up of chilled soups. I am looking forward to trying some of these.

  3. I would not have thought of most of these- minus the chilled asparagus – and I am a soup nut! Love the pics!

Leave a Reply

