Quick Bites from Pender

Black & White Quinoa Arancini

In Recipes on June 15, 2010 at 5:23 pm

Black & White Quinoa Risotto Cakes

Lookie here!  I deep fried myself (and Howard) some leftovers, and they sure were tasty.

“Deep fried leftovers?  How do I get me some of those?” you ask.

Well, first, go off and make yourself a full recipe of Black & White Quinoa Risotto.  Enjoy a big bowlful.  Isn’t it good?  Don’t eat it all though.  It’s even better deep fried…

quinoa arancini

These are a variation on true risotto cakes, known as arancini.  Traditional risotto doesn’t need an egg to hold together, but other than that, the method is exactly the same.

I prefer panko breadcrumbs because they make the best crust, but don’t run out and buy them if you already have plain old breadcrumbs — these are leftovers, remember?

mozzarella stuffed quinoa arancini

Black and White Quinoa Arancini
Serves 3-4 as an appetizer or snack

Leftover Black & White Quinoa Risotto 2 C 500 ml
Egg, beaten 1
Mozzarella, in small cubes 3 oz 80 g
Flour ½ C 125 ml
Egg, beaten 1
Panko Breadcrumbs 1 C 250 ml
Vegetable Oil, for frying 4 cups 1 L
s+p TT

C=cup                  ml=millilitres                        oz= ounces         g=grams
L=litres                 TT=to taste

Mix the quinoa and 1 beaten egg in a bowl.  Form into golf sized balls and fill the centre of each with a small cube of mozzarella.

Set up 3 small plates or shallow bowls with the flour (seasoned with s+p), the other beaten egg (mixed with 1 tablespoon water), and the panko breadcrumbs.

Roll each ball first in the flour, then the egg, then the breadcrumbs, carefully knocking off the excess between each step.  Refrigerate until ready to cook.

Heat the oil in a med. saucepan to 350° F.  Fry the arancini in batches, turning occasionally, until golden.  Remove and drain on paper towels.

Serve hot.  Pesto mayo makes a nice dipping sauce (if you’re so inclined).

black and white quinoa arancini

  1. Once again you make me crave for black quinoa, great post as usual 🙂

  2. those are positively brilliant….wow, I know my girls would love them! who knew you could do that with Quinoa!

  3. Hi, Theresa. I think you have a very clever interpretation of the classic arancini (I still remember the ones I had in Sicily a few years ago!). I gues the quinoa compensates for the frying, making this a super-food….

    Yours,

    Dan

  4. They looks so amazing. Sounds yummy. I have to try this recipe. Thanks for sharing.

  5. black quinoa! I must find it then. Very interesting.

  6. What a lovely idea, and a lovely blog. So glad I stumbled on this today. They look amazing, may have to give these a whirl. Fantastic photos.

  7. I love fried risotto and I can’t wait to try it with quinoa.

  8. how awesome, love arancinis, never tried black quinoa, would love to try some now :))

  9. These look wonderful:)

  10. This is great! I’ve tried quinoa a few times but never had the black version. I don’t think I’ve ever seen it! This is a recipe I would love to try. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

