Quick Bites from Pender

Hand Knitted Dishclothes

In Island Life, Kitchen Tips on May 9, 2010 at 7:01 am

hand-knit-dishclothes

So much more colourful than last years batch! I finally settled on a permanent pattern as well — knitting is enjoyably mindless when you have a simple pattern to guide you.

The yarn is Bernat Handicrafter Cotton, and I used a set of (2) 5mm needles (US size 8).  I don’t do gauges, but I can tell you that I make my dishclothes about 8″x8″ (20cm x 20cm) – do the math if you want, or just work by trial and error.

(And yes, I know that my conversions in parentheses are inconsistent.  Sometimes I work in metric, sometimes I work in imperial.  It’s a Canadian thing.)

Knitted Dishcloth
Project time:  About 2 hours.

Cast On 37 stitches

Row 1 – Work in a seed stitch (k1, p1, k1) to end of row.

Rows 2 thru 5 – Repeat Row 1

Row 5 – k1, p1, k1, p1, k29, p1, k1, p1, k1

Row 6 – p1, k1, p1, k1, p29, k1, p1, k1, p1

Rows 7+ – Repeat Rows 5 & 6 until dishcloth measures 7″ (17.5cm)

Repeat Row 1 for a total of 5 rows to complete dishcloth border.

Cast Off in seed stitch.

Leave a Reply

