Quick Bites from Pender

Pico de Gallo Cheeseburger

In Recipes on May 6, 2010 at 5:01 am

pico de gallo cheeseburger

I don’t know where I’ve been lately, but I totally blanked on the fact that yesterday was Cinco de Mayo.  If I had been with it, I would’ve posted this quick and easy burger in time for you to have it while celebrating the Mexican Army’s victory over the French in 1862.

Then I ask myself why I, a Canadian, am worried about missing what is really just a regional celebration in the Mexican state of Puebla?   When did it get so BIG?

I don’t know, but I suspect it all started with NAFTA.  Nothing good came out of that nightmare.

pico de gallo cheese burger

On a whole wheat kaiser, I layered mayo, lettuce, avocado, a beef patty and aged cheddar, then topped it with 2 heaping spoonfuls of Pico de Gallo.  A complete meal — just a few corn chips and a Dos Equis on the side to give dinner an extra kick of authenticity.

pico de gallo

This is one of those recipes where exact quantities aren’t important.  Just throw it all together and adjust to taste.  Then invite some friends over and enjoy the freshest tasting salsa you’ll ever eat.  The jarred stuff will be dead to you.

Roma tomatoes (in season) make the best Pico de Gallo.  As we’re not quite there yet up here, I used hothouse tomatoes on the vine — not as good as the late summer, ripened on the vine variety — but tasty enough to satisfy heartily.

Pico De Gallo
Yield:  about 2 cups

Tomatoes, seeds and core removed, finely diced 4  medium
Onion, finely diced 1 small
Jalapenos, seeds & pith removed, minced 1 large
Cilantro, chopped ½ bunch
Lime Zest & Juice 1 whole
Salt+Pepper TT

Combine the first 5 ingredients in a bowl.  Cover and refrigerate for 30 minutes to 2 hours to allow the flavours to develop.  Season with salt & pepper just before serving.

Serve with corn chips, or on a Avocado Cheddar Burger.  Best eaten the same day.

salsa cheeseburger

Pico De Gallo

Yield:  about 2 cups

Tomatoes, seeds and core removed, finely diced

4  medium

Onion, finely diced

1 small

Jalapenos, seeds & pith removed, minced

1 large

Cilantro, chopped

½ bunch

Lime Zest & Juice

1 whole

Salt+Pepper

TT

Combine the first 5 ingredients in a bowl.  Cover and refrigerate for 30 minutes to 2 hours to allow the flavours to develop.  Season with salt & pepper just before serving.

Best eaten the same day.

  1. I love pico de gallo! Extra cilantro please

  2. This is a wonderful idea for a bright and summery burger! Beautifully coloured and obviously bursting with flavour.
    Next time I make burgers, I know how I’m doing them!

  3. Oh! To sink my teeth into that one….

  4. Hi, Theresa. I enjoy reading your blog so much I am giving you a Sunshine Award. Check it out on my site to read my review: http://islandeat.wordpress.com/. (And it was even mainly sunny today in the Gulf Islands.)

    Yours,

    Dan

    • Dan,

      Thank you so much! Quite an honour, and one that will take me a few days to respond to…12 blogs! I need to put my surfing cap on…

  5. You take the most amazing photos of food. If it triggers salivating just by looking at the photo, it’s good. You’re terrific and your blog is too!

  6. Yowza! And no worries about it getting eaten the same day… 😉

Leave a Reply

