Quick Bites from Pender

Frikadeller – Danish Meatballs

In Recipes on April 19, 2010 at 5:02 am

danish-frikadeller

“Frikadeller?” you say.

“Danish meatballs, fried in lots of oil.  Always make extra — they’re awesome cold.”  I respond.

This meal is a Danish legacy from my Grandma, who passed it to my mom, who used to feed these little meatballs my brothers and I on a pretty regular basis — especially between hockey, tennis, soccer and softball practices.    Originally fried in lard, Mom updated the recipe a bit and fried them in margarine.

I don’t buy margarine, which leaves me with veg oil to fry in.  I know it seems like a lot of oil to use to shallow fry meat, but all that oil crisps up the sides and makes everything very tasty.  You can, of course, fry them with no extra oil at all, but they aren’t the same.

I can’t say it enough:  make extra, you will want a sandwich made from these the next day.

Frikadeller

Serves 4, with leftovers (of course!)

Lean Ground Beef ½ lb 225 g
Ground Pork ½ lb 225 g
Onion, grated ¼ C 60 ml
Egg, slightly beaten 1
Flour 2 T 30 ml
Vegetable Oil ¼ C 60 ml
s+p TT

Lb=pound           g=grams             T=tablespoon     ml=millilitres
TT=to taste

Mix the beef, pork, onion, egg and flour together in a large bowl using your hands.  Season with s+p.   Form into 3” patties, about ½” thick.

Heat the veg oil in a large frying pan over med-high heat until shimmering.  Add the patties, being careful not to overcrowd the pan.  Fry, undisturbed, for 3-4 minutes, or until well browned.  Flip and fry until the browned on the second side and cooked through.  Remove from the pan and drain on paper towels.  Serve hot (or cold the next day).

frikadeller-dinner

  1. Hi, Theresa. I enjoyed your picture and post up on Mt. Norman.

    I wondered if you ever went to the Turkey Stop on Granville Island, where I first heard the word, “Frikadeller”. Theirs, of course, were made with turkey, in patty format. I always bought them, when they weren’t sold out there.

    How was the cheese-making workshop???

    Dan

    • Dan…great to hear from you! Hope you had a good trip…my grandmother would probably keel over at the idea of turkey frikadeller! I did see them at Granville Market, never tried them though. Too much of a purist — must be in my genes.

  2. I have been wanting to make these for the longest time now. I had it recently in San Diego and it was amazing!Thanks for giving me the inspiration to try this.

  3. Are these similar to the Swedish Meatballs? We have something very similar in Bulgaria called Kufte, which have bread and traditional spices. These look great.

  4. I love meat balls, they are great for all kinds of reasons (appetizers, in sauces, etc.) and this is the basic way that my family and I start with ours. We love to add in extra stuff like herbs and spices to change it up every now and then 😀

  5. These meatballs look fantastic! I already bookmarked this recipe.

  6. Oh I see you have a Danish Frikadeller recipe. I use only ground pork in mine and fry them up using cooking spray. The ground pork already contains alot of fat and they get nice and crisp on the outside. My mother always used alot of margarine as well.

Leave a Reply

