Quick Bites from Pender

Sunday Lunch – Soba Shots

In Sunday Lunch on April 11, 2010 at 7:30 am

soba-chicken-consomme

Cold buckwheat noodles in a frozen shot of Asian-flavoured, double strength chicken consomme.

soba-asian-broth

Served in a warmed bowl, within a nest of julienned aromatics.

soba-chicken-consomme

The sunlight helped move things along…

soba-cold-consomme

We chatted and sipped some wine while we waited for complete disintegration…

cold-soba-broth

forkful of soba

This consomme is the final act of an organic game hen that gave far beyond what you would think her little body could have.

From her we got chicken yakitori (with leftovers for lunch the next day), the yakitori sauce (or taré), these soba shots, plus a quick chicken soup that fed us for another 2 meals.

That bird deserves a purple heart.

soba-shot

  1. Looks great. Visually beautiful.

  2. Hi Theresa,

    What a fantastic idea. What kind of container do you use to create them? Drinking glasses perhaps? Also, do you use soba that is 100% buckwheat or soba that is a mixture of buckwheat and wheat? I live on Pender and I must avoid gluten, but I haven’t seen 100% buckwheat soba here. Perhaps I could order some via one of the stores.

    I went on a reading spree yesterday. I have now read everything you have on your blog to date. I love it all: your recipes, pictures, humour and reflections. I moved to Pender last year, but I grew up in Vancouver. Howard was my realtor – the best one I’ve ever worked with!

    Looking forward to your new posts. I signed up to be notified. 🙂

    • Great to hear from you, Lillea! Howard says hello!
      There is no 100% buckwheat soba on island…Fujiya (in Victoria) will most likely sell it, as will a number of places in Chinatown, I’m sure.

Leave a Reply

