Quick Bites from Pender

Crowds

In Island Life on February 20, 2010 at 5:01 am

sidney-man-dog

When you live in a big city, you get used to crowds.  But on our little island, I often go for a long walk and don’t see a soul.  When I do go into the city to do some shopping, I find the crowds a little tough to adjust to.

There’s people everywhere!

There’s the fishermen:

sidney-fisherman

sidney-fisherman-wharf

sidney-captain-highliner

(Geez, can’t you wait until you get home to do that?)

sidney-diver

In Sidney, there’s always a bunch of water babies hanging around…

sidney-diver

Sand of course, animal lovers:

sidney-dog-walker

sidney-walker-sculpture

sidney-man-dog-sculpture

(I should tell them about the Pender Disc Park!)

sidney-kids-cat

sidney-kids-sculpture

Of course, every big city has its unsavoury elements as well.  Take this suspicious looking fellow for example:

sidney-pirate

Armed, dangerous,

sidney-pirate-sculpture

and with apparently something to hide.  I’m outta here.

  1. On my first trip to Sidney a few weeks ago I came across some of these wonderful streetscapes. Blown away. They are magical. Some are so realistic that they catch you off guard when you’re walking down the street and you catch them out of the corner of your eye.

  2. LOVE this. I’m right there with you – and waving from my island! Our mainland people are wooden and painted…and they still scare me to pieces!

Leave a Reply

