Quick Bites from Pender

Salt Preserved Tangerines with Star Anise – Exotic Salted Citrus #2

In Kitchen Tips, Lessons From Cooking School, Recipes on February 8, 2010 at 5:02 am

star-anise

Preserved tangerines are not as common as lemons and limes.  For that reason I’m the most curious and excited to discover what they’ll taste like.   Don’t get me wrong, I’m not ambivalent about the Meyer lemons with juniper or the sweet limes with bay leaf & peppercorns by any means!  I will be doing a lot of preserved citrus experimenting in the next few months…

salted-tangerines-star-anise

To learn how to salt preserve lemon, limes and oranges go here.

Recipe Brainstorming:

  • lamb coconut curry with preserved tangerine
  • preserved tangerine and fennel compound butter for beef
  • salt-cured tangerine aioli for yam fries
  • after dinner brandy infused with tangerine and star anise
  • cured tangerine scented quinoa
  • salted tangerine and red pepper chutney

What did you come up with?

organic-tangerines

preserved-tangerines-star-anise

  1. Interesting…I’m interested to know what they taste like. I am thinking that it should not be too different from limes.

    • I think that the differences will be subtle…that’s part of the reason why I used some different spices in each of the Meyer lemons, tangerines and sweet limes. Can’t wait to find out!

  2. I have made lamb tagine before without preserved lemon, but I put just lemon. It didn’t taste bad eventually, it’s actually pretty good, but I knew from my first bite, I missed that authentic Moroccan flavor. And it’s completely another story, isn’t it?!
    I could literally smell the infused star anise fragrance from the jar. Very creative combination!

  3. This is so beautifully presented…The salt-cured tangerine aioli, I must have some!

Leave a Reply

