Quick Bites from Pender

Bowl-Aid

In Island Life, Kitchen Tips on January 5, 2010 at 5:01 am

Do you like my new bowl? It’s pre-owned.  I scavenged it on our last trip to the island’s recycling depot.  I even met the generous fellow who had just dropped it into the old clawfoot tub full of scrap metal.  He pointed out the pin-sized hole about halfway up its side when he saw my interest.

I’ve been looking for a big SS bowl for rising double-batches of Pender Island Sourdough, and this thing measures 16″ across.  Was a little hole going to stop me from claiming this bowl as my own?

Never.  After all, with a little duct tape, you’re golden.

bowl-aid

Or should that be stainless?

PS:  If you like a good scrounge/thrift shop, just wait until I show you the Nu-To-Yu

Leave a Reply

