Quick Bites from Pender

3 Random Questions, with Answers

In Did You Know, Kitchen Tips on December 6, 2009 at 4:29 pm

Q: Can you roast a chicken in a toaster oven?

roast chicken

a bird in the pan is worth two in the fridge

A: Well, I don’t know about you, but I sure can – as tested on Saturday night.  It took 45 minutes at 350˚ F on convection bake in our new Krups countertop oven.  Some of the crispiest most golden skin I’ve managed in a long time.

Q: I noticed that the whipping cream I bought contains carrageenan as well as cream.  What is carrageenan?

A: Carrageenan is a seaweed extract that has been used to thicken and improve the texture of processed foods since the 1930s.  (I wouldn’t consider whipping cream to be a processed food, but that’s just me.) Organic whipping cream does not contain carrageenan, a possible carcinogen that has been shown to cause intestinal problems in many animals, including as rabbits, rats, mice and guinea pigs.

Q: Will you PLEASE tell us more interesting facts about the most exalted of all vegetables – the parsnip?

parsnips in a basket

late fall harvest

A: Romans considered parsnips to be an aphrodisiac.  (I don’t know about plain old parsnips, but I tell you — my version of parsnip soup sure changed my mood for the better…)

Leave a Reply

