Quick Bites from Pender

Keep the Drain Flowing Free

In Kitchen Tips on December 4, 2009 at 1:07 pm

I’m willing to admit that we have a kitchen sink drainage problem.  I’ve had the reason explained to me, but I’m not very detail oriented when it come to that kind of stuff.  All I need to know is that it isn’t up to snuff, but that the fix is more hassle than I’m willing to deal with.

So instead, I deal with the problem over and over.  Smart?  Probably not.  But that’s the way it is around here sometimes.

Because of this ongoing problem, I have experimented with many environmentally-safe (and shamefully even resorted to Drano a couple of times) trying to keep the drain clear.  Here’s the most-effective method I’ve found:

To Unclog Your Sink:

  • Pour ½ C of table salt down the drain, followed by ½ C of baking soda.  Then pour approx 1 C of white vinegar down the drain.  You may need a bit more vinegar to get all of the baking soda down the drain.  Allow to sit for 30 minutes.
unclogging the kitchen sink

fire burn, and cauldron bubble

  • After 30 min, pour a full kettle (at least 1.5L or 6 C) of boiling water down the drain.  You may have to plunge lightly to help with the process.  Repeat with another kettle of boiling water.
  • If the clog is REALLY BAD and the sink is still not draining properly, then repeat the entire process from the beginning.  When I first tried this method, it took 3 repetitions in each sink to get everything running smoothly.  I now do this in each sink once per week for maintenance.  (Except when I forget.)

It works way better than Drano.

Leave a Reply

