Quick Bites from Pender

Tomato Seed Concentrate

In Kitchen Tips, Recipes on November 30, 2009 at 7:46 pm

I started this blog off last Friday with my version of Slow Roasted Tomatoes.  Did anyone out there save the seeds and the piths like I asked?  Hello?…  Anyone?…  Bueller?…

If you are in the possession of all your seeds and piths, then you can make a rich tomato concentrate that will add deep tomato taste and rich red colour to your dishes.  Molecular gastronomist/chef Heston Blumenthal first demonstrated this method on his show Search for Perfection.  It looked like a good idea – one I’d have to try.  Ever since, I almost always have a little bit of this concentrate in my fridge.  It’s a secret dish enhancer.

It does take a good number of tomatoes (minimum 2-3lbs) to get enough seeds to make it worthwhile, though, so I collect the seeds and piths as I go, throwing them into a tub in the freezer until I have a big enough batch.

Press the seeds and pith through a strainer, extracting as much juice as possible.  I use my hands to squeeze as much of the jelly-like coating from the seeds as I can.  This jelly contains FLAVOUR.

Reduce the juice at a low boil until the liquid has a ketchup consistency.  As the concentrate thickens, lower the heat and stir often to avoid burning it. Season with a little bit of salt, if desired.

Cool and store covered in the fridge for 5-7 days.  Use it sparingly on sandwiches, burgers, as well as in sauces and dips.

Leave a Reply

