Quick Bites from Pender

Slow Roasted Tomatoes – Recipe

In Recipes on November 27, 2009 at 1:11 pm

Slow Roasted Tomatoes

Tomatoes I usually do 2-3 lbs Approx 1 kg
Olive Oil For drizzling
Fresh Thyme 2 sprigs, leaves removed
Coarse Sea or Kosher Salt TT (to taste)

Preheat oven to 250˚ and move the rack to the middle position.

Core the tomatoes, then cut in half, pole to pole.  Using a spoon, scoop out the seeds and piths.  Retain these for use in something else.  (You’ll learn quickly that I don’t like to waste anything.)

Line a rimmed baking sheet or broiler pan with parchment.  Arrange the tomatoes cut side up and drizzle lightly with olive oil.  Sprinkle the thyme leaves and salt over top, and roast in the oven until the bottoms begin to very lightly colour, about 60-90 minutes.  Turn the tomatoes over, and return to the oven for until virtually all of the liquid has evaporated, but the tomatoes are still shiny and slightly moist, approx. 30-45 minutes more.

Remove from the oven and cool completely.  If they are on the done side, you may want to remove them to a plate to stop the cooking.  Store in a covered container in the fridge — use within 4 or 5 days.

SLow Roasted Tomato on Lavash Cracker

Remember this Cracker...

Here is a simple presentation with the tomato on a Lavash cracker that I will posting about soon.  I didn’t dress it up, because I wanted to show you the finished tomato, but if this was going farther than my own mouth, I would probably pipe a little mayo (homemade preferred, but store bought will do) mixed with some finely chopped fennel fronds on to the tomato before garnishing with the red onion.

Slow Roasted Tomatoes

This is not a new idea – I know.  But we had such a bad summer for tomatoes on our little island, that there was very little opportunity to enjoy the intense sweetness of one picked fresh off the vine.  Even experienced gardeners (not me) had poor crops this year.

So I’ve gone a little overboard for the past couple of months, buying those not-so-tasty-resource-hogging-hydroponic-hothouse tomatoes and slow roasting the hell out of them.  I really should stop, but I’ve gotten pretty good at it – I can bring robust flavour into even the sorriest excuse for a tomato.  Even unripe Mexican Romas would be no match.  (Although I’m happy to report I haven’t sunk that low yet.)

My other reason for starting with this method is that I consider it to be a Foundational Recipe.  By that I mean one that is used as a base ingredient in any other number of dishes.  The applications in Italian dishes are obvious.  But I also use them in South Asian curries, French sauces, Greek moussakas, etc.

  1. This is amazing, good on you girl! I have already taken your roasted tomatoes recipe and will give it a go……cannot wait for the next recipe…maybe some of those yummy breads that I have heard about?

Leave a Reply

