Quick Bites from Pender

New Direction

In Island Life on November 27, 2009 at 1:47 pm
Egg in Cup

There's Only One Way to Go

I have been surrounded by food my whole life.  I cooked and baked alongside my mom and my grandmas from the time I could stand on a stool and reach the counter.  I cooked breakfast (eggs – scrambled, poached or coddled – bacon, toast and OJ) with my dad every Sunday for the greater part of my youth.

My family ate out a lot.  My dad had an appreciation for GOOD food that was unusual in the 70’s.  My mom, two brothers and I were happy to tag along to his newest find – sometimes fine dining – sometimes not.  My dad’s enthusiasm for food sparked a passion in me.  To this day, I spend most of my free time in the kitchen by choice.

So, given that passion, one may wonder how (or why) I ended up at business school, and eventually working as an operations manager at FedEx?  I don’t know how it happened, but let me tell you, was I U-N-H-A-P-P-Y!

I’ll skip over the tediousness that was my life back then to bring you up to date.  I quit my job, and my husband Howard and I moved to Pender Island, a small island on the west coast of British Columbia, population approx 2000 — an amazing place to call home.

Finally, last year, I went to culinary school, where, (Howard insists that I tell you), I won THE medal.  That is, I finished at the top of the class.  How’s that for a confidence booster?

So now it’s time for me and my medal to talk about food.

And that’s exactly what we’re going to do.

Leave a Reply

